My Little Easter Story

my-little-easter-story

 

My Little Easter Story

Christina Goodings
Illustrated by Claudine Gevry
A Lion Children’s Book, an imprint of Lion Hudson plc, 2011

From the back of the book, “Let this story take you to the heart of the very first Easter… from the excitement of Palm Sunday, through the sadness of Good Friday to the good news of Easter morning… the day when Jesus showed his friends that God’s love is for ever.”

This small book is perfect for reading to young kittens to help them understand the story of Jesus, Palm Sunday and the week that followed leading up to and including Jesus’ Ascension. It provides a very brief overview of the events without delving into details.

Although the book follows the Bible, I was bothered by the lack of continuity – something kittens won’t notice I’m sure, but it bugged me. It was like the author felt she had to make the story fit within so-many words and on so-many pages so some stuff got left out. The illustrations are simple but colorful. There’s even a cat in one of them – but it’s a black cat like me shown on the same page as Judas talking to the Pharisees. Hmmm, that gives me paws to think of why the illustrator did that and is she perpetuating the terrible superstition of black cats bringing bad luck? I hope not, but as there is no other cat shown it does make me wonder.

Rating 2 out of 5 paws because it’s a nice book that is basically a condensed version of the Bible Story and I personally object to the suggestion of lingering black cat superstitions.

Reviewer:

simon-loc

Simon

 

The black cat shown on the same page as Judas betraying Jesus. I don’t like the implications of this scene. my-little-easter-story-cat

 

One thought on “My Little Easter Story

Place a bookmark where you're reading and say something!

