North, South, East, West

north south east west

 

North, South, East, West

Margaret Wise Brown
Pictures by Greg Pizzoli
Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2017

From the dust jacket: “It’s time for a little bird to fly away to the north, the south, the east and the west. Which direction will she like best?
“In a never-before-published story from beloved children’s author Margaret Wise Brown, a little bird’s first journey is brought to life by Geisel Award-winning illustrator Greg Pizzoli.”

I was excited to read this new book from the author – but was disappointed just a bit. I like the story of the little bird finding where to set up her own nest and how she flew in the four directions to find a home of her own. But I didn’t care for the illustrations. The illustrator used Adobe Photoshop and I find them to be mildly charming – but that’s after 3 readings of the book. My gut reaction when I read the book the first time was “yuck!” However, I guess I’ve warmed up to them or maybe just gotten used to them. There’s nothing wrong with them and the illustrator did a nice job – they just aren’t my cup of cream.

The text is medium-large, is white on a dark background or black on a light background and is easy to read for kittens of almost every age. There aren’t any difficult works, except for maybe ‘sycamore’ but that’s easily remedied by an adult or older kitten helping the younger ones along.

Rating 4 out of 5 paws because I liked the book and I don’t want to penalize it just because I didn’t like the pictures!!

Reviewer:

simon-loc

Simon

 

 

2 thoughts on “North, South, East, West

Place a bookmark where you're reading and say something!

