Every Bitter Thing is Sweet

bitterEvery Bitter Thing is Sweet

Sara Hagerty
Zondervan, 2014

This nonfiction book covers the journey of a young woman as she struggles through a journey of barrenness. She desperately wants a child – to feel the growth of a child inside and the joy of delivery. After suffering  – and growing spiritually – through more than 10 years, she is finally blessed with a child. This memoir covers that journey and the lessons she learned along the way.

The following are some of my favorite quotes from the book:

 “And so I cradled my midnight questions while mamas cradled their babies, and I let God’s psalms tell me He cradled the answer in Himself. I felt forgotten, but I heard God speak that He had not left me. I felt weak, but I heard Him promise an overshadowing. I felt anxious that my constant fumblings would annoy Him, but I heard Him say He delighted in me.” Pg 20-21

“This was my opportunity to live a new reality. To stare, every day, into another layer of this unpredictable pain and delay and believe a different truth. Survival required a new kind of seeing.”  Pg 92

“At times it’s easier to accept a diagnosis than to believe He can heal. To know Him as Healer requires me to be always asking. To know Him as Healer requires me to stay, longer than I’d like to, as one in need of healing.”  Pg 107

“Loneliness beckoned me that black-sky morning. It was a familiar place to go. But this time, I had new words to remember.”  Pg 158

Abide in My love. When you feel orphaned. When the words and silences of others hurt you. When you are alone. Stay here. Live here. You are loved, understood.”  Pg 182

The author is very open and forward in sharing her pain and disappointment with not only herself but with God as well. I appreciated her honesty and while I did not share her exact situation, I could recognize and feel her pain. This is a beautiful book – beautiful in it’s pain,  in it’s joy and in it’s lessons. It is a book I would welcome on my bookshelves for periodic rereading.

Rating: 5 paws

jackReviwer: Jack

Please click on the author’s name to go to her website.

4 thoughts on “Every Bitter Thing is Sweet

Place a bookmark where you're reading and say something!

