A Tale Dark & Grimm

A-Tale-Dark-and-GrimmA Tale Dark & Grimm

Adam Gidwitz
Dutton Children’s Books, Penguin Group, 2010

Yet another version of fairy tales and children’s stories we know from childhood, written specifically with the younger middle schoolers in mind. The main characters, Hansel and Gretel wander through various fairy tales making them their own.

I will say right up front that I didn’t like the book. I didn’t even finish the book. I got barely half-way through when I called it quits. The author did warn me – that it was not your average fairy tale and that there would be a lot of blood and gore! And he is right – in fact the book is written with a bent toward blood and gore (Hansel and Gretel get their heads cut off, put back on and later Gretel cuts her finger off to open a door to free some birds – I’m quite sure there is more but I just couldn’t take it). Which is fine for those who play those crazy video games where people and animals get blown up and come back to life – it’s kind of like that. The author actually relishes telling the gory parts of the story, which, maybe if I were a 10-13 year old boy I would probably relish reading it. As it is I didn’t (relish reading it) and decided not to even finish it. Besides, I have a Fannie Flagg book waiting for me.

Rating: no paws because I didn’t finish it!no paws

selfie 092015aaReviewer: BobbieSue

Adam GidwitzAdam Gidwitz

IMWAYR 2015 click on the badge to see what everyone else is reading!!!

9 thoughts on “A Tale Dark & Grimm

    • Mom used to watch the tv show Grimm – but during the first season there was an episode about killing humans and recycling them into feed and it turned my stomach so she hasn’t watched it since. I’m glad you like the review! Kiss Millie for me!

      Like

  1. It sounds like it’s tapping into the classic fairy tale tradition, where the tales are full of terrible endings and grisly stories! Not my cup of tea, but I can certainly see the appeal for some readers.

    Like

  2. Pingback: A Tale Dark & Grimm — Library of Cats | Wyrdwend

Place a bookmark where you're reading and say something!

