Cover Makeover – Pink Floyd albums

ds 2

pf 10

This week the Cover Makeover Challenge is for two album covers for Pink Floyd. The Board loves Pink Floyd but that didn’t mean we didn’t need to do some research (thanks, Wikipedia!)

The Dark Side of the Moon, according to Wikipedia, “lyrical themes include conflict, greed, the passage of time, death, and insanity . . . The five tracks on each side reflect various stages of human life, beginning and ending with a heartbeat, exploring the nature of the human. experience.”  After some thought this is what we came up with:

The Clock face on the Tower at the Palace of Westminster from the internet.

The base photo – the Clock face on the Tower at the Palace of Westminster from the internet.

The moon showing it's dark side.

The moon showing it’s dark side.

I overlayed the moon on top of the clock face.

I overlayed the moon on top of the clock face.

ds 2

I added the text – I wanted to focus on time and the Parliament clock face was perfect to use!! 

Here’s the original – dark side of the moon

The next album, The Division Bell, is one I wasn’t familiar with. According to Wikipedia, “deals with themes of communication and the idea that talking can solve many of life’s problems.”  So I thought about these vintage family photos. Taken in the mid-1950s, they show mom’s relatives. They’re all gone now except for my mom’s mom (she’s to the right of the door).

pf2

pf 5

I cropped and overlaid 4 photos, focusing on interaction between the people.

pf 7

One final photo to overlay and fade in. . .

pf 8

I overlaid this scrap paper (from PicMonkey).

And then clicked on the effect I liked - a negative effect on part of the photo - I liked it. Added text and loved it!!

And then clicked on the effect I liked – a negative effect on part of the photo – I liked it. 

pf 10

Added text and loved it!!

Here’s the original – pink_floyd_-_division_bell-2

badge3

Sponsored by Lucile de Godoy and DesleyJaneGo HERE for all the covers for last weeks challenge!  

library cropped Cover Makeover Artist – Toby

6 thoughts on “Cover Makeover – Pink Floyd albums

  1. Hi! Your Dark Side cover is fabulous and I love the process, very cool. But I love the thought behind The Division Bell, using communication as your theme. Great photos making a great cover!

    Like

  2. Pingback: PhotoRehab Wrap Up #16 and New Challenge #17 | musings of a frequent flying scientist

Place a bookmark where you're reading and say something!

