Cover Makeover: Six Days, Seven Nights

6 days 7 nights

This week’s Cover Makeover is for the movie poster for Six Days, Seven Nights. I have to tell you, I struggled with this one. Mom and I searched all through her photos (and that’s A LOT!) before we found one – or more we liked. I finally settled on something from a group of photos from mom’s trip to Jamaica when she was just a kid – back in the 1960s. But which one to choose? So many! Here’s what we did:

i finally decided on this photo of the beach. It has a greenish hue to it so I changed to black and white in PicMonkey.

I finally decided on this photo of the beach.

After cropping it - this wasn't the final crop, but you get the idea, I noticed it had a greenish hue (natural aging)

After cropping it – this wasn’t the final crop, but you get the idea, I noticed it had a greenish hue (natural aging). 

I changed the photo to black and white in PicMonkey.

I changed the photo to black and white in PicMonkey.

I knew I wanted a plane so first I picked this plane (taken in 1953).

I knew I wanted a plane so first I picked this plane (taken in 1953).

So, again using PicMonkey I cut it out of the background and tried it on the beach. I didn't like it.

So, again using PicMonkey I cut it out of the background and tried it on the beach. I didn’t like it.

So I looked on-line until I found a photo of the plane from the movie

So I looked on-line until I found a photo of the plane from the movie.

I cut it out of the photo. . .

I cut it out of the photo. . .

Made it black and white, and placed it in the upper right corner of the photo.

Made it black and white, and placed it in the middle right side of the photo -sort of like it was coming into land. Added text and could finally call it done!!

220px-Six_days_seven_nights

Here’s the original movie poster!!

badge3

Sponsored by Lucile de Godoy and DesleyJaneGo HERE for all the covers for last weeks challenge!   

library cropped  Cover Makeover Artist: Toby

3 thoughts on “Cover Makeover: Six Days, Seven Nights

  1. Fabulous!! I’m so impressed with those of you who’ve layered a plane into the shot. This is great. And a photo from the 60s? That’s awesome. Thanks so much for sharing this with us.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Photo Rehab Weekly Photo Challenge: Wrap up #15 New Challenge #16 | lucile de godoy

Place a bookmark where you're reading and say something!

