Cover Makeover – The Incident at Montebello

incident at montebello

This week’s Cover Makeover Challenge is The Incident at Montebello by P.A. Moed. The Incident at Montebello is a historical novel based on a true event— In 1930, Italian Premier Benito Mussolini was driving through the Italian countryside with Cornelius Vanderbilt, Jr. when his car struck and killed a little girl, Sofia Buonomano. (from Goodreads)

The Process –

I decided to focus on a doll that the little girl may have been carrying. This is a handmade and hand-sewn doll my mom bought years ago. She it threw her in the yard (not really) so it looked like she fell.

I decided to focus on a doll that the little girl may have been carrying. This is a handmade and hand-sewn doll my mom bought years ago. She it threw her in the yard (not really) so it looked like she fell.

I took all the color out of the of the photo, cropped it and added some of the dolls hair color back in.

I took all the color out of the of the photo, cropped it and added some of the doll’s hair color back in.

I added clip art of a rolls royce, fading it just a bit (I figured if Mussolini was driving it would be a fancy car.)

I added clip art of a rolls royce, fading it just a bit (I figured if Mussolini was driving it would be a fancy car.)

Found this image of Mussolini's insignia on the internet. . .

Found this image of Mussolini’s insignia on the internet. . .

I faded the color, softened it and placed it on the car's grille.

I faded the color, softened it and placed it on the car’s grille.

 After adding the car to the lower right corner and fading it just a bit. . . I added text and called it a day!!

After adding the car to the lower right corner and fading it just a bit. . . I added text and called it a day!!

17211278  The Published Cover

covermakeover badge

Sponsored by Lucile de Godoy and DesleyJaneGo HERE for all the covers for last weeks challenge!   

library croppedCover Makeover Artist: Toby

4 thoughts on “Cover Makeover – The Incident at Montebello

  1. Pingback: PhotoRehab Wrap Up #14 and New Challenge #15 | musings of a frequent flying scientist

Place a bookmark where you're reading and say something!

